The 1707 Act which established the Library provided for the structure and membership of a board of trustees which (with some modifications during the eighteenth century and after Independence in 1922) remains in place to this day. Under the Act, six ex officio trustees serve as a result of their positions in the spheres of the law, learning and religion. In 2023 they are:

The Church of Ireland Archbishop of Dublin, The Most Revd Dr Michael Jackson (Chair)

The Archbishop of Armagh, The Most Reverend Francis John McDowell

The Dean of Christ Church, The Very Revd Dermot Dunne

The Dean of St. Patrick’s, The Very Revd Dr William Morton

The Chief Justice, Mr Justice Donal O’Donnell

The Provost of Trinity College, Dr Linda Doyle

Under the terms of the 1997 Cultural Institutions Act, the Minister can nominate two individuals as trustees of Marsh’s Library. Each of the Minister’s nominees serves for a maximum of five years, and may be re-nominated for a second term of five years. The current nominees of the Minister are Dr Philip Maddock, a renowned authority on eighteenth-century Irish bookbinding; and Mr David Caird, who brings expertise in finance and administration to the board. Mr Caird served with Marsh Ireland Ltd (Insurance) for 33 years, as CEO from 1991 to 2002, and as Chairman of the Group from 2002 to 2004.

The trustees who serve on the board of Marsh’s Library are known as ‘Governors and Guardians’ in accordance with the original terminology in the 1707 Act.

The Governors and Guardians receive no financial reward or expenses of any kind.

Connect On Social
Connect On Social
Search what: