Marsh’s library will be closed Wednesday July 24th from 11:30am to 12:30pm for a private event.

Management FAQ

The Library receives an annual grant from the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media.  We also rely on the admission fees paid by our visitors, and on the income from sales in the shop, online and on site. Our Annual Reports and Accounts are available online.

Research and conservation are supported by donations from our visitors and from individual donors.

See our Donations page for how you can support the Library.

The Library is still governed under the original founding Act of the Irish Parliament of 1707, as amended by the Cultural Institutions Act of 1997.

The trustees are known as the Governors and Guardians of Marsh’s Library. As of 2023, they are:

The Church of Ireland Archbishop of Dublin, The Most Reverend Dr Michael Jackson (Chair)

The Archbishop of Armagh, The Most Reverend Dr Francis John McDowell

The Dean of Christ Church Cathedral, The Very Revd Dermot Dunne

The Dean of St. Patrick’s Cathedral, The Very Revd Dr William Morton

The Chief Justice, Mr Justice Donal O’Donnell

The Provost of Trinity College, Dr Linda Doyle

Dr Philip Maddock

Mr David Caird

The Director of Marsh’s Library is responsible for the strategic direction and management of the institution. The Deputy Director works with the Director to manage the staff, finances and the practical, day-to-day running of the Library. You can read more here.

Connect On Social
Trip advisor logo for 2024
Connect On Social
Trip advisor logo for 2024
Search what: